Distinguished Service Award

Established in 1994, the Distinguished Service Award is presented to a CRS member who has exhibited exceptional commitment and service to the Society and is selected by the Board of Directors. The award is not automatically given each year, only in the years when there is an exceptional member who fits the criteria.

2017 Awardee


Nicholas A. Peppas is the Cockrell Family Regents Chair in Engineering, He is  Professor in the Departments of Chemical Engineering, Biomedical Engineering, Surgery in the Dell Medical School and Pharmacy. He is the Director of the Institute of Biomaterials, Drug Delivery, and Regenerative Medicine of the University of Texas at Austin. His work in biomaterials, polymer physics, drug delivery, and bionanotechnology has followed a pioneering multidisciplinary approach by blending modern molecular and cellular biology with engineering principles to design the next-generation of medical systems and devices for patient treatment. Over the past 42 years he has set the fundamentals and rational design of drug delivery systems and developed models of drug and protein diffusion in controlled release devices and biological tissues. In 2012 he received the Founders Award of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), the highest recognition of the academy, for these contributions to the field. Peppas is a member of the National Academy of Engineering (NAE), the National Academy of Medicine (NAM), the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy of Inventors (NAI), the National Academy of Pharmacy of France, the Royal Academy of Spain, the Academy of Athens, and the Academy of Medicine, Engineering and Sciences of Texas (TAMEST). He has been recognized with numerous awards by AIChE, BMES, AIMBE, the Society for Biomaterials, and other societies. In 2008, AIChE named him one of the One Hundred Chemical Engineers of the Modern Era. He is president of the International Union of Societies of Biomaterials Science and Engineering (2008–2016) and a fellow of AAAS, AIChE, APS, ACS, MRS, is SFB, BMES, AIMBE, CRS, AAPS, and ASEE. Peppas has been one of the very early proponents and supporters of CRS and has been attending its meetings for 39 years. He was CRS president in 1987–1988. CRS has awarded him the CRS Founders Award (1991), the CRS Service to the Society Award (1992), the Jorge Heller Award for Outstanding Research (1999), and the Eurand Award for Outstanding Contributions to Oral Drug Delivery (2002). He is an inaugural CRS Fellow (2010). Peppas was the force and program organizer behind the first international meeting of CRS (Geneva, 1985) and was a co-organizer of the 1988 (Basel) and 1991 (Amsterdam) CRS meetings. In addition, he helped found 12 of the initial CRS local chapters in the early 1990s, including the chapters in Spain/Portugal, Israel, Greece, Turkey, Slovenia, Italy, Germany, the United Kingdom, the Czech Republic, the Nordic countries, Argentina, and Australia. Peppas has been a Visiting Professor in the Pharmacy Departments of the Universities of Paris-Sud, Geneva, Parma, Pavia, Naples, Santiago de Compostela, Complutense, Marmara, Haccetepe, Free University of Berlin, and Hoshi (Tokyo). He is the co-author of 1,600 publications with 100,000 citations (H=150). He has supervised the research of 107 PhDs and about 180 postdocs and graduate students. Peppas holds a Dipl. Eng. from the NTU of Athens (1971), a Sc.D. from MIT (1973). He has received honorary doctorates from the Universities of Ghent (Belgium), Parma (Italy), Athens (Greece), Ljubljana (Slovenia), and Patras (Greece). He is also honorary professor at Sichuan University (Chengdu) and Peking Union Medical College (Beijing) both in China.


The recipient of the Distinguished Service Award will be a member who has provided sustained, effective, and outstanding service and leadership to CRS. More specific criteria which will be considered are sustained effective service and leadership:

  • to development of high impact, sustainable initiatives which serve the membership and CRS.
  • to the modernization of governance and structure of CRS to promote its vision and mission and ensure its long-term viability and vitality.
  • to the globalization of CRS to enhance membership and reach throughout the world.
  • to the Board, Board of Scientific Advisors, and Committees of CRS.
  • to development and delivery of CRS publications and e-learning materials.
  • to the understanding of delivery science and technology and the CRS in the wider community, including school children.
  • to the understanding of delivery science and technology and the CRS among politicians, government departments, regulatory agencies, and granting agencies.
  • to any other activity which promotes delivery science and technology and the CRS.

It is not expected that the recipient will have made contributions in all these areas. It could be that the contribution is in one area only. Importantly, the Board will take into account the effectiveness of the service, and be strongly influenced by how sustained the service and leadership have been.


  • $5,000 award honorarium
  • Recognized during the Award Ceremony at the CRS Annual Meeting

Past Recipients

2016 Ian Tucker
2015 Kinam Park
2014 Diane Burgess
2013 Mark Tracy
2012 Art Tipton
2009 Susan Cady
2008 Martyn Davies
2007 Michael Rathbone
2005 Colin Pitt and Joerg Kreuter
2004 Harlan Hall and Ronald Versic
2001 Robert Gurny
1998 David Friend
1996 Theodore Roseman
1995 Jorge Heller

© Copyright Controlled Release Society  | Contact Us - Report a Bad Link