CRS Founders Award

The society grants this honor to a current CRS member who is internationally recognized for outstanding contributions in the science and technology of controlled release.

2017 Awardee


W. Mark Saltzman is an engineer and educator. His research has impacted the fields of drug delivery, biomaterials, and tissue engineering and is described in more than 300 papers and patents. He has written three textbooks: Biomedical Engineering (2015), Tissue Engineering (2004), and Drug Delivery (2001). Dr. Saltzman graduated from Iowa State University and received graduate degrees from MIT. He has served as a faculty member at Johns Hopkins University, Cornell University, and Yale University.  At Yale, Dr. Saltzman was appointed the Goizueta Foundation Professor of Chemical and Biomedical Engineering in 2002, and served as founding chair of Yale’s Department of Biomedical Engineering. Dr. Saltzman has received the Dreyfus Foundation Teacher-Scholar Award (1990); the Allan C. Davis Medal (1995); the CRS Young Investigator Award (1996); the Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering Award (2013) from Iowa State. He has been elected a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (1997); a Fellow of the Biomedical Engineering Society (2010); a Member of the Connecticut Academy of Science & Engineering (2012); a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (2013); and a Member of the US National Academy of Medicine (2014).

Nomination Process:

In addition to completing the online form. The following items are to be saved as pdf files and emailed directly to CRS Program Manager, Linda Schmitt by January 15.

  • An abbreviated curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of support for the nominee

Selection Process:

The Founders Award Committee will make the selection of the awardee.


  • Award Plaque
  • $5,000 Award Honorarium
  • Recipient of the Founders Award will become CRS Honorary Members
  • Awardee will be Deputy Chair on the Founders Award Committee the following year and Award Chair the year after.

Past Recipients


© Copyright Controlled Release Society  | Contact Us - Report a Bad Link