CRS T. Nagai Postdoctoral Research
Achievement Award
Co-sponsored by The Nagai Foundation Tokyo

The CRS T. Nagai Postdoctoral Research Achievement Award has been established to recognize those who have made an outstanding postdoctoral research achievement in controlled release science and technology.

2018 Awardees


Maike Windbergs studied Pharmacy and her subsequent doctoral studies done in Germany, Finland, and the Netherlands were focused on biodegradable drug carriers. She performed a postdoctorate at Harvard University, before joining Saarland University and the Helmholtz-Institute for Pharmaceutical Research Saarland as a junior research group leader. Recently, she accepted a full professorship at Goethe-University in Frankfurt. Her research projects span from the design of innovative drug carriers and complex in vitro models up to label-free imaging.


Claus-Michael Lehr is Professor at Saarland University since 1995 and department head at the Helmholtz Institute for Pharmaceutical Research Saarland (HIPS), part of the largest public research organization in Germany and focusing on infectious diseases. Since October 2015, the institute is located in a brand new building on the university campus in Saarbrücken, the capital of Saarland. Prof. Lehr has also been cofounder of Across Barriers GmbH and acts as CEO of PharmBioTec GmbH, a non-for-profit contract research subsidiary of Saarland University. His team currently prepares for the 12th biannual conference and workshop “Biological Barriers” in August 2018.


The CRS T. Nagai Postdoctoral Research Achievement Award recognizes an individual postdoc who has recently completed postdoctoral research in controlled release science and technology and the postdoc’s advisor, who played an integral role in the achievements. Candidates for the award may be from academia, industry, or government. Candidates must be a CRS member.

Nominations for the 2018 are now being sought.

Nomination Process:

In addition to completing the online form. The following items are to be saved as pdf files and emailed directly to CRS Program Manager, Linda Schmitt by January 15.

  • An abbreviated curriculum vitae
  • Abstract of work (if available)
  • Examples of quality research papers
  • Patents related to the work, and a list of publications on the subject.
  • Two letters of support for the nominee

Selection Process:

The CRS T. Nagai Postdoctoral Research Achievement Award Committee will be responsible for the selection of the award.


  • $3,000 award honorarium to both the awardee and their principle advisor.
  • Recognition at the CRS annual meeting.

Past Recipients


© Copyright Controlled Release Society  | Contact Us - Report a Bad Link