Presidents Blog Ruth Schmid
From the President

Tamara Minko, Ph.D.
Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, U.S.A.
CRS President, 2017–2018

Dear current and future members of the Controlled Release Society,

It is with great pleasure I am writing to you as the new President of CRS.

Thanks to those of you who believed I would be a good president and elected me to office. This is a tremendous honor for me and a huge responsibility.

For those who do not know me, I am a distinguished professor and chair of the Department of Pharmaceutics at Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey, U.S.A. My current research interests include drug and nucleic acids delivery, nanotechnology, personalized nanomedicine, biopharmaceutics, imaging, and molecular targeting. I am an executive editor for Advanced Drug Delivery Reviews, editor of Pharmaceutical Research, and a fellow of CRS, AAPS, and the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE). I’m a member several journal editorial boards, including CRS journals Journal of Controlled Release and Drug Delivery and Translational Research. And, it is hard to believe, but now I am a president of CRS—president #40. CRS was founded in 1978, so next year in the Annual Meeting in New York we will celebrate the 40th year of the society.

CRS is, in my opinion, one of the most respected and unique societies that covers new technologies and science in the multi-disciplinary delivery fields. CRS has succeeded in stimulating substantial progress in the areas of bioengineering, drug delivery, material science, pharmaceutics, consumer and diversified products, and veterinary science. With members in more than 30 countries, powerful local chapters all over the world, our excellent annual meetings, and two prestigious CRS journals, the Journal of Controlled Release (impact factor in 2016 of 7.786, editor-in-chief Kinam Park) and the recently established journal Drug Delivery and Translational Research (impact factor in 2016 of 3.094, editor-in-chief Vinod Labhasetwar), we can look into the future with deserved optimism.

I became a member of CRS 19 years ago in 1998 at the annual meeting in Los Angeles. At that time I was a postdoc in the laboratory of Henry Kopecek. My abstract was selected for an oral presentation. The next year, in 1999 at the annual meeting in Boston, my abstract again was selected for oral presentation, and together with Dr. Kopecek and co-authors, we received the Jorge Heller Journal of Controlled Release Outstanding Paper Award. I was extremely proud, and since that time, I have considered CRS as my primary and most important society. I decided to do my best for the success of CRS. In doing so, I was chair of the Annual Meeting Program Committee in 2008–2009 and a member of the CRS Board of Directors; I was inducted into the CRS College of Fellows and have received the Drug Delivery and Translational Research Journal Outstanding Paper Award. Also, graduate students and researchers from my lab three times received the Controlled Release Society Outstanding Pharmaceutical Paper Award.

Again, I’d like to stress that I am taking my role as CRS President very seriously and will do my best to keep the high prestige of the society.

Fortunately, I will not work alone. We have outstanding members on the CRS Board, and I’d like to recognize my colleagues who will share with me the leadership in CRS in 2017–2018. First of all, I’d like to express my sincere thanks to Immediate Past President Ruth Schmid (SINTEF Materials and Chemistry, Norway) for her tremendous efforts. She has led CRS with great dedication and passion during the past year and has made a lasting impact on our society through her leadership and through the implementation of changes to our annual meeting programming, increased industry focus, and the re-tooling of our strategic plan. I am very happy to work with the following CRS Board members: President-Elect Maria José Alonso (University of Santiago de Compostela, Spain), who successfully served on the Board in 2016–2017 as Secretary; current Secretary James Oxley (Southwest Research Institute, U.S.A.); Treasurer Jules Remenar (Dulce D Leche, U.S.A.); Treasurer-Elect Samir Mitragotri (Wyss Institute, Harvard University, U.S.A.); and five Directors-at-Large: Justin Hanes (John Hopkins University, U.S.A.), Richard W. Korsmeyer (retired from Pfizer, U.S.A.), Mark Prausnitz (Georgia Institute of Technology, U.S.A.), Nicole Papen-Botterhuis (Maxima Medical Centre, the Netherlands), and Ilva Rupenthal (University of Auckland, New Zealand).

I am very glad to report that Hamid Ghandehari (University of Utah, U.S.A.) agreed to serve as a chair of 2018 Annual Meeting Program Committee. We can be certain that with this committee led by Dr. Ghandehari we will have an outstanding meeting next year in New York. Our confidence for the further success of CRS is also based on the permanent help of the CRS committees, task forces, and our loyal team of volunteers, including the College of Fellows and past presidents of the society. I am asking for input and help from all of you. Please don’t hesitate to reach out and contact me. I can be reached at I look forward to your critiques, advice, and ideas.

I look forward to seeing you next year in New York at the 2018 CRS Annual Meeting!


There are no comments yet for this post.
© Copyright Controlled Release Society  | Contact Us - Report a Bad Link |
Admin Access