2018-2019 Board Announced

The Controlled Release Society proudly announces the appointment of five new members of its Board of Directors, as well as the full slate of officers and board members for 2018-2019.

All five of the newest Board members are devoted to the science and technology of controlled release which encompasses scientific and technical efforts to regulate the spatial and temporal effects of agents in diverse areas including human and animal health as well as non-pharmaceutical areas such as agriculture, cosmetics and consumer products, and the environment.

The new Board members, along with incoming officers; President, Maria Jose Alonso, Treasurer, Samir Mitragotri, Directors-at-Large, Richard Korsmeyer (2019), Mark Prausnitz (2019), and Ilva Rupenthal (2020) will commence their service to the Controlled Releases Society at the conclusion of the 45th CRS Annual Meeting & Exposition held in New York, July 22-24, 2018.

President-Elect, Justin Hanes

Justin Hanes is the Lewis J. Ort Professor of Ophthalmology with joint appointments in Biomedical Engineering, Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering, Environmental Health Sciences, Neurosurgery, and Oncology at the Johns Hopkins University. His degrees are in Chemical Engineering from UCLA (B.S.) and MIT (Ph.D.), and he has completed a postdoctoral fellowship in Oncology and Neurosurgery at Johns Hopkins prior to beginning his faculty position in 1998. He is the Director of the Center for Nanomedicine at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine. He is also Director of Therapeutics for the Institute for NanoBioTechnology (INBT), which includes more than 170 faculty members and spans several divisions of the university.

Secretary, Yvonne Perrie

Yvonne Perrie is Professor in Drug Delivery within the Strathclyde Institute of Pharmacy and Biomedical Sciences, University of Strathclyde, Glasgow, Scotland. She gained her PhD from the University of London (1998) investigating the role of liposomes for drug delivery. She then worked developing liposome drug delivery platform technology. Yvonne joined Aston University in 2000 and was appointed Professor in Drug Delivery in 2007. In 2016, Yvonne moved to the University of Strathclyde as part of the Global Talent Appointment Programme. Yvonne’s research is multi-disciplinary and is focused on the development of drug delivery systems to facilitate the delivery of drugs and vaccines.

Treasurer-Elect, David Putnam

David Putnam is Professor of Biomedical Engineering and Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering at Cornell University, Ithaca, NY. He received his graduate training at the University of Utah. He was an NIH postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Chemical Engineering at MIT in the laboratory of Professor Robert Langer. He held a joint appointment at MIT and as a Scientific co-Founder of TransForm Pharmaceuticals, Inc., which was acquired by Johnson & Johnson in March, 2005. In 2008-2009 he was an Entrepreneur-in-Residence at PureTech Ventrures in Boston, MA where he focused on emerging technologies in the field of drug delivery.

Director-at-Large, Twan Lammers (3-year term through 2021)

Twan Lammers obtained a D.Sc. degree in radiation oncology from Heidelberg University in 2008 and a Ph.D. degree in pharmaceutics from Utrecht University in 2009. In the same year, he started the Nanomedicine and Theranostics group at the Institute for Experimental Molecular Imaging at RWTH Aachen University. In 2014, he was promoted to full professor at the faculty of medicine at RWTH Aachen University Hospital. He is also affiliated with the Universities of Twente and Utrecht in The Netherlands. He has published over 150 research articles and reviews and received awards, including the CRS Young Investigator Award. He is associate editor for Europe at the Journal of Controlled Release and serves on the editorial board of multiple other journals.

Director-at-Large, Steven Little (3-year term through 2021)

Steven Little is currently the William Kepler Whiteford Endowed Professor of Chemical Engineering, Bioengineering, Pharmaceutical Sciences, Immunology, Ophthalmology and The McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine at the University of Pittsburgh. Steve also has served as the 12th Chairman of the Department of Chemical Engineering since 2012. Dr. Little is a Co-Founder of Qrono Inc. (a biomedical startup focused on controlled release-based cancer treatments) and OTERO Inc. (a biomedical startup focused on ocular drug delivery). His work has been highlighted in a wide range of journals including Journal of Controlled Release, Journal of the American Chemical Society, Angewandte Chemie, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, ACS Nano, Advanced Materials, Biomaterials and Nature Methods. He has received a number of honors for his research. Steve currently serves as the Representative for CRS Focus Groups.

© Copyright Controlled Release Society  | Contact Us - Report a Bad Link |
Admin Access