Dear Colleagues,

When I last spoke with you, the Annual Meeting Committee was busy developing final plans for our meeting in Valencia this July. I am happy to report that they have completed their work and have developed an outstanding program for you. In line with this, I am proud to tell you that we have received over 950 abstracts applications (**a record!**)

It is with delight that I am informing you that the **Star for the 2019 Annual Meeting** is **Professor Patrick Couvreur**. On his behalf, we will be granting a number of travel grants so that young scientist will have the opportunity to attend and discuss with him and other luminaries.

You will want to be in attendance to hear our outstanding plenary speakers who will discuss about basic science (with Professor Molly Schoichet and the Nobel Laureate Professor Ada Yonath) but will cover translational issues as well (with Novartis Global head of Innovation Justin Wrightand, PhD; and the view of the clinician Dr. Ralph Weissleder, PhD). Discussions will also be animated with the "**Stars collide session**" about nanomedicine, led by Professor Patrick Couvreur and Professor Kinam Park.

In addition to this impressive line-up, the Annual Meeting offers you the opportunity to participate in a variety of **focus group sessions** (Immuno, Transdermal and Mucosal Delivery Nanomedicine, Bioinspired, Gene, Ocular or Oral Delivery), scientific sessions, mini-symposia and round tables .

Not only will you benefit from a world-class scientific program, you will also have numerous opportunities to interact with and learn from your colleagues. I know you will not want to miss this meeting. Look soon for your opportunity to **register on line**.

You are valued members and make CRS the great organization what it is. Therefore, it is only fitting that each year, we honor those of you who have made significant contributions to our community. When we gather in Valencia, we will have the pleasure of recognizing several awardees, including: <u>Alexander "Sandy" Florence, Ph.D., Jordan Green, Ph.D., Randall Mrsny, Ph.D., Joke Bouwstra, Ph.D.</u>

Your Nomination Committee, chaired by Immediate Past-President Tamara Minko, has completed a slate of candidates for election to the Board. That slate includes:

<u>Yvonne Perrie, Ph.D., Andy Lewis, Ph.D., Cornell Stamoran, Ph.D., Laura Ensign-Hodges,</u> <u>Ph.D., Alexander Kabanov, Ph.D., Yu-Kyoung Oh, Ph.D., Kathryn A. Whitehead, Ph.D.</u>

The Elections for these candidates and write-in candidates will take place between May 3, 2019 and June 14, 2019.

As always, we welcome your comments and suggestions for improving our service to you. We look forward to hearing from you and I look forward to welcoming you this July in Valencia when you attend the 2019 CRS Annual Meeting.

Very Best Wishes,

MJ