Samyang Award

Samyang CRS Award in Honor of Sung Wan Kim


The Samyang CRS Award in Honor of Sung Wan Kim recognizes a current CRS member and must have been a CRS member for not less than the previous 5 years consecutively. The nominee must be between 41-55 years old as of December 31 in the year the award is presented. Finally, the nominee must be present at the CRS Annual Meeting to receive the award.

Nominations - Closed

All nominations for the primary CRS awards are submitted through the same form for consideration. Please note, self-nominations are greatly encouraged. The following areas will be reviewed for eligibility by the Award Committee:

  • Contributions to Drug Delivery Science (50%)
  • Contributions to the Controlled Release Society (30%)
  • Contributions to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (20%)
  • A CV for the nominee is required 

Nomination period: January 15, 2024 – March 15, 2024 11:59 pm ET. 

Selection Process

The Samyang Award Committee will make the selection of the awardee. The committee is comprised of a Chair selected by the CRS Awards Board Liaison, 1 previous winner, 1 College of Fellows member, and 1 Focus Group past Chair.


  • Award Plaque and recognition at the Annual Meeting
  • Honorarium presented at the Annual Meeting
  • Awardee will present the “Samyang Award in Honor of Sung Wan Kim Lecture” during the Annual Meeting
  • Awardee will receive complimentary Annual Meeting registration

Past Recipients